A Swiss Room
to Showcase
Lausanne’s
Candidature
to organise
the 28th UIA Congress

1.

Challenge

The challenge posed by this competition is to design a place-object which encapsulates the ideas behind the topic of “Architecture and Water”. It involves creating a place to showcase Lausanne’s Candidature which offers an intuitive approach to the multiple ramifications of this topic. It should, effectively, act as a laboratory of ideas. This place-object must be able to house a table and 4 chairs for discussions, presentation of the candidature, etc. It will be located in the hall of the Convention centre in Seoul.

The Swiss Room must be straightforward, economical and easy to build. It should be robust and not require equipment or a water supply and it should produce a minimum amount of waste. Mains electricity is available. Assembly time should be short – no longer than one day’s work by 3 persons. Material should be locally sourced and economically priced. The Swiss Room will have a lifetime of one week in COEX Exhibition Hall C, 3Fl., Coex Convention and Exhibition Center in Seoul. The space available sizes 4 × 5m.

For further details of this conference, please download Lausanne’s candidature document which outlines this particular topic.

2.

Organiser

The Candidature organising committee is both the client and organiser of the procedure. He is supported by the SIA (Engineer and Architect Society) and the FAS (Federation of Swiss Architects).

 

 

mail@lausanneuia2023.ch

 

 

 

3.

Procedure

The project competition procedure consists of one stage. Participation is exclusively aimed at architecture students from throughout the world. Teams of a maximum of 3 persons are permitted. Both participants and jury shall accept the terms of the competition based on this regulation. The winner or winning team will have the opportunity to create the Swiss Room on site, in Seoul, in September 2017 unless Lausanne should decide to withdraw its candidature prior to this date. The organising committee will cover all costs related to the Swiss Room construction.

4.

Languages

The official competition languages shall be French and English. Dimensions are centimeters and meters.

5.

Prize

The jury disposes of CHF 3,000 in total to be awarded in 3 prizes. The jury will choose as the winner the project which best matches the ideas behind the selected theme. Its proponents must also demonstrate its feasibility. The winner or winning team (maximum 3 persons) will receive a prize, a return trip to Seoul, registration at the 28th UIA Congress, conference accommodation and the opportunity to build the Swiss Room in Seoul between 2 and 7 September 2017.

6.

Appeal

The jury’s decisions shall be final.

7.

Documents provided

Download the documents here

Download documents

8.

Requested Documents

  • 1 PDF document (max 10 Mb) comprising 2 horizontal A3 drawing boards loosely illustrating the idea, its realisation, assembly details and its dimensions in centimetres. The names of the authors and a contact email address shall be included in the top right hand corner of each board.
  • 1 PDF document including valid student cards for the candidate or candidates.
  • These documents should be uploaded by July 3rd 2017 at 12.00 noon GMT at the latest. Each participant or team of participants may present only one proposal. Variants of the same proposal are not permitted.

Send documents

9.

Jury

President

  • Patrick Bouchain, architect, Paris

Members

  • Catherine Gay Menzel, architect, GayMenzel, Monthey
  • Jeanne Della Casa, architect, L-Architectes, Lausanne
  • Philippa de Roten, Director Society and Culture, RTS, Geneva
  • Sarah Nedir, architect, nb.arch, Lausanne
  • Tarramo Broennimann, architect, group8, Geneva
  • Victoria Easton, architect, Christ & Gantenbein, Basel

10.

Schedule

  • 15 May 2017 Competition launched
  • 3 July 12.00 noon GMT 2017 Final submission
  • 14 July 2017 Jury deliberation and selection of winner
  • 15 – 23 July 2017 Exhibition of projects online on www.lausanneuia2023.ch
  • 2 September 2017 Construction of the Swiss Room in Seoul by the winner or winning team
  • 3–6 September 2017 Participation of the winner or winning team in the 28th UIA Congress
  • 7 September 2017 Disassembly of the Swiss Room in Seoul by the winner or winning team

11.

Copyright

All projects remain the property of the participants. All projects and documents submitted may be used by the Organising Committee of the 28th UIA Congress, together with the identity of the contributors.

Une Swiss Room
pour présenter
la candidature
de Lausanne
et de la Suisse
à l’organisation
du 28e congrès UIA

1.

Esprit et enjeu

Le concours porte sur la proposition d’un lieu-objet qui doit être la synthèse de la thématique « L’architecture et l’eau ». L’idée est de développer un lieu, qui valorise la candidature de Lausanne et qui présente de manière intuitive les multiples développements de la thématique. Il constitue en lui-même un laboratoire d’idées. Ce lieu-objet doit pouvoir abriter une table et 4 chaises autour de laquelle on peut discuter, présenter la candidature, etc. Il est situé dans le hall du centre des congrès de Séoul.

La Swiss Room doit être constructible de manière simple, économique et rationnelle, pas fragile, sans moyen de levage, sans alimentation d’eau, avec une quantité de déchets minimum. Une alimentation électrique est possible. Le temps de montage doit être rapide et ne doit pas dépasser un jour à 3 personnes. Les matériaux doivent être locaux et économiques. La durée de vie de la Swiss Room est d’une semaine dans le COEX Convention and Exhibition Center à Séoul (Hall C, 3Fl, zone 6, selon plan joint). L’espace à disposition est une surface de 4 × 5 m.

Pour comprendre les enjeux du présent concours il s’agit de télécharger le document de candidature de Lausanne expliquant la thématique choisie.

2.

Organisateur

Le comité d’organisation de la candidature est le maître de l’ouvrage et l’organisateur de la procédure. Il est soutenu par la SIA (société des ingénieurs et architectes suisses) et par la FAS (fédération des architectes suisses).

mail@lausanneuia2023.ch

3.

Procédure

La procédure est un concours de projets à un degré. La participation est ouverte exclusivement aux étudiantes et aux étudiants en architecture du monde entier. Les équipes de maximum 3 personnes sont autorisées. Les participants comme le jury acceptent les clauses du concours basées sur ce règlement. Le lauréat ou l’équipe lauréate aura l’opportunité de réaliser la Swiss Room sur le site, à Séoul en septembre 2017 sauf retrait prématuré de la candidature de Lausanne.

4.

Langues

Les langues officielles du concours sont le français et l’anglais. Les dimensions sont en centimètres et mètres.

5.

Prix

Le jury dispose d’un montant global de CHF 3’000.- à répartir en 3 prix. Le jury désignera un projet lauréat en adéquation avec le thème et l’esprit recherché et dont la faisabilité sera démontrée par les concurrents. Le lauréat ou l’équipe lauréate (maximum 3 personnes) gagne un prix, le voyage aller-retour à Séoul, l’inscription au 28e congrès de l’UIA, l’hébergement sur place et l’opportunité de construire la Swiss Room à Séoul du 2 au 7 septembre 2017.

6.

Recours

Les décisions du jury sont sans appel.

7.

Documents fournis

Les documents du concours sont téléchargeables ici.

Télécharger les documents

8.

Documents demandés

  • 1 document PDF  (max 10 Mo) composé de 2 planches DINA3 horizontales représentant de manière libre l’idée, la matérialisation, le détail de montage, les dimensions en centimètre. Le nom des auteurs et une adresse e-mail de contact figurera en haut à droite de chaque planche.
  • 1 document PDF sur lequel figurera la carte d’étudiant valable du ou des candidats.
  • Les documents sont à envoyer au plus tard le 3 juillet 2017 à 12h00 GMT. Chaque participant ou équipe de participants ne peut présenter qu’un seul projet. Les variantes ne sont pas autorisées.

Envoyer les documents

9.

Jury

Président

  • Patrick Bouchain, architecte, Paris

Membres

  • Catherine Gay Menzel, architecte, GayMenzel, Monthey
  • Jeanne Della Casa, architecte, L-Architectes, Lausanne
  • Philippa de Roten, Directrice Société et Culture, RTS, Genève
  • Sarah Nedir, architecte, nb.arch, Lausanne
  • Tarramo Broennimann, architecte, group8, Genève
  • Victoria Easton, architecte, Christ & Gantenbein, Bâle

10.

Calendrier

  • 15 mai 2017 Lancement du concours
  • 3 juillet 2017 12h00 GMT Rendu des projets
  • 6 juillet 2017 Jury et désignation du lauréat
  • 10–31 juillet 2017 Exposition des projets online sur le site www.lausanneuia2023.ch
  • 2 septembre 2017 Réalisation de la Swiss Room à Séoul par le lauréat ou l’équipe lauréate
  • 3–6 septembre 2017 Participation du lauréat ou l’équipe lauréate au 28e congrès de l’UIA
  • 7 septembre 2017 Démontage de la Swiss Room à Séoul par le lauréat ou l’équipe lauréate

11.

Droit d’auteur

Les projets restent propriété de leurs auteurs. Les projets et documents présentés pourront être utilisés pour l’Organisation du  28e  congrès UIA, avec mention des auteurs.